DOJ Punches Back at “Anarchist” Cities

( – Several Democratic-led cities lay in ruins at the hands of Black Lives Matter and Antifa members. Violent clashes promoted as “peaceful demonstrations” have plagued the nation in the wake of the May death of George Floyd, a black man, while in police custody.

President Trump issued a five-page executive order on Sept. 2, ordering a review of federal funding for local and state entities allowing anarchy, destruction, and violence to overrun their cities.

On Monday, Sept. 21, the Department of Justice announced the designation of three American cities as “anarchist jurisdictions.” Washington, D.C., was one of four initially targeted by President Trump. However, Mayor Muriel Bowser recently met with the mayor and avoided the classification.

The criteria set forth by the president and used by the DOJ included the failure to rein in the violence, defunding or disempowering of police departments, the refusal to accept assistance from federal law enforcement officials, and anything else the Attorney General deemed relevant.

Attorney General William Barr stated, “citizens deserve to be protected,” including peaceful protestors. Continuing, he vowed that federal tax dollars would no longer be wasted when citizens’ safety “hangs in the balance.”

The widespread destruction of property, injury to people, and loss of lives cannot continue at the hands of weak Democratic leadership. As AG Barr noted in his statement, hopefully, the cities names in the announcement “will reverse course” and take a proactive approach to “protecting” their citizens in the future.

Copyright 2020,